New York Fashion Week Favorites – Fall 2012 Edition. [design.]

Hello everyone! Last week I talked about the quirky obsession I have with color palettes and the exciting arrival of Pantone’s Fashion Color Report. This week, as promised, I’ve selected my favorite looks from New York Fashion Week (which just wrapped up this past Thursday). See if you can spot some of the colors from the Pantone list!

Kelly Wearstler. It’s obvious this interior designer also has the ability to design hip and wearable clothing. Love the layered look, the polka dot detail, the bunched and stirrup leggings…the gloves!!! That green minidress paired with those leggings and pointy-toe shoes is fabulously minimalistic and…did I mention the gloves? Both models are wearing them (look carefully). Well done.

I have a weakness for velvet. And gorgeous retro necklines. And bold pops of color. Both of these looks by L’Wren Scott appear comfortable and easy to wear, yet they have a real chic, head-turning capability to them. And I must say, those blue strappy heels? With the model’s skin tone? Just beautiful.

A few years ago I was thrift shopping at a St. Vincent de Paul store, and I came across an original red and black printed Diane von Furstenberg wrap dress. It was in the “retro” section, a part of the store reserved for “more expensive” pieces. It was $8. Yes, of course I bought it! These two looks above, just like that iconic wrap dress, show DVF’s knack for prints and elegant silhouettes. I love a good jumpsuit – especially one draped and fitted like this one. Fabulous. With those long gloves, it looks super-sophisticated. And the red military-style jacket is beautifully tailored.

One thing I really appreciate about Nanette Lepore is her attention to detail. This look is so much fun. There’s so much going on in this bright and busy pattern, yet the muted tights and the metallic blast of shiny gold booties finish the look perfectly. And what an interesting neckline!

Did you know Gwen Stefani grew up sewing her own clothes? Sewing your own clothing helps you create your own personal style, and instead of relying on what’s available in stores, you can make something no one else has. L.A.M.B. clothing shows Stefani’s unique style that she developed for herself, and although this particular look is more on the reserved side, it still shows the fun and edgy persona that we all love about her.

I love this dress by Victoria Beckham. It’s neat. It’s tailored. It’s colorblock done well. The dropped waistline is in just the right place. And it looks like it would be comfortable to wear. This look is fabulously preppy and the boots (I am a boot lover!!) just top it off.

Another comfortable look – this one by Lauren Moffatt. This is a wonderfully vintage-looking piece, made  to be modern with the incredible print of the dress, the handsome color combination of navy and grey, and those sensational shoes. I also have to say that I love the blunt, chunky red bangs on the model – the hair goes perfectly with the rest of the look.

In my opinion, a classic, simple black dress with just one or two special details will always shine above the others. This dress, by Thakoon, is a perfect example. Besides the point of interest on the bodice and sleeves, my favorite feature is the bateau neckline – a most-flattering line for not only the neck, but for the collarbone as well.

This look, by rag & bone, reminds me of someone who enjoys camping and hiking, and who can handle herself outdoors. It must be the knitted layers, the pattern, and the colors of brown, honey, and grey. Obviously it’s a more sophisticated version of outdoorsy, but this woman is on a mission. She is strong. And she just might be wearing a little patchouli!

Michael Kors, how did you know I would be all over these art deco dresses? Gorgeous, shiny, swingy dresses in black and gold – so much fun!!! I’d probably wear a t-strap heel with these instead, but my goodness, who’s really looking at the shoes?

This look, by Theyskens’ Theory is cool and casual. Although I’d leave the bag behind, the rest is great. I am a big fan of monochromatic looks, giving attention to textures that compliment one another instead of color. The sweater features a little sweetness with the bell sleeves and when belted at the waist like this, shows shape. And of course, I love the boots!

Best,

H

PS. All of these photos (and hundreds of others from New York Fashion Week) can be found at www.nymag.com.

2 thoughts on “New York Fashion Week Favorites – Fall 2012 Edition. [design.]

  1. I love this weeks blog! Thanks so much for taking the time to write your reflections and sift through all the options to share some of the best! I agree… Minimal, yet classy is always better! Look forward to more!

Leave a Reply

