Cilantro-Peanut Stir Fry

Cilantro-Peanut Stir Fry

Hello! I thought I’d post this recipe for Cilantro-Peanut Stir Fry today after receiving several requests to do so.  It’s a quick vegan dish that’s super-easy and cheap to make. This is technically not a stir fry, since I actually just steam the veggies, but if you prefer to throw them in a wok, then by all means do it. I am just impatient and steaming is easier for me. I usually serve it over brown rice, but this time I used millet and it works well. I don’t really measure ingredients – I usually just eye it, so these are approximate. It’s a hard recipe to mess up, so no worries about measurements.

***I use a mini rice cooker to make all of my grains, whether it is rice, millet, quinoa, or steel cut oats.  And I use the same method for all of them: 1 cup grains, 2 cups water. Press “cook.” It’s a cinch. This equals 4 servings.

Cilantro-Peanut Stir Fry (Serves 4)

Veggies

Broccoli, carrots, red bell pepper. You can use whatever veggies you want in this dish, of course, like snow peas, zucchini, etc. I also sometimes add shiitake mushrooms. It’s really up to you.

Chop veggies into bite-size pieces. Set aside.

Sauce

Stick the following into a food processor:

A nice big dollop of natural peanut butter (about 1/4 cup or so). Don’t use that processed peanut butter with fillers and sugar in it. Use the good stuff.

Garlic cloves, minced or pressed. I use 2 big cloves. I am a garlic lover.

Fresh grated ginger (about 2 tablespoons). I buy ginger and keep it in a container in the freezer. It’s so simple to grate when it’s frozen. Plus it lasts a long time.

Small bunch of cilantro. Mmmm. People either love it or hate it. Chop it up a bit and throw it in.

Fresh lime juice (1 lime’s worth).

2 spoons of honey. I buy local honey at the farmers market and prefer it over sugar. Honey is not vegan, but vegan sugar can be used instead of honey.

Soy sauce (about 1/8 cup or so). I use Bragg Liquid Aminos instead of soy sauce – it’s non-GMO Project verified. I love all Bragg products.

Give this a whirl in the food processor and add a little water until it reaches the desired consistency of a pourable sauce.

Steam (or stir-fry) the veggies until just tender (don’t overcook them) and plate them over the rice or millet. Drizzle the sauce over the veggies and grains.

Add chopped peanuts on top for a good crunch.

This can be eaten the next day as leftovers and is just as delicious.

 

Bon Appetit,

H

 

2 thoughts on “Cilantro-Peanut Stir Fry

  1. I just wanted to tell you that I order a similar dish from a vegetarian/vegan joint near my house, and have been dying to find the recipe for ages. This is almost it to a T! I love it. Saves me plenty of money and it’s super delicious. 🙂 Thank you!

Leave a Reply

